Pictured above is the 18th hole of the Home of Golf, The Old Course at St Andrews. With six
centuries of golf history it is considered the oldest golf course in the world. It is believed that
golf was played at St Andrews 100 years before Columbus reached America.

The James Cup Championships are unique amateur match play events exclusively for left
handed golfers. There are two Championships. The James Cup Challenge (JCC) established
in 1998 as an annual domestic event in the United States. The JCC also serves as a qualifying
tournament for the selection of players to represent the United States in the international
event, the James Cup International (JCI). The JCI was established in 2002 as a worldwide
event, which is played preceding each Championship of the World Association of Left Handed
Golfers. Countries represented in the JCI have been Australia, Canada, England, Germany, Japan, Ireland, New Zealand, Scotland, Switzerland, Sweden, Taiwan and United States.

The JCI has a global footprint. To date the JCI has been played in Spain, Canada, Ireland, Taiwan, New Zealand, Sweden, United States, Scotland and Japan.

The purpose of this website is to promote, support and grow the wonderful game of golf, in
particular for those throughout the world who play the game left handed. The site provides current information for the James Cup Championships, World Association of Left Handed Golfers (WALG) and what is happening at the many National Associations of Left Handed Golfers (NALG) around the World.

                                            INTERNATIONAL TEAM MATCH PLAY

Very few golfers worldwide have the opportunity to participate in the ultimate golfing
experience of International Team Match Play. The format is both challenging and rewarding.
There is no greater pressure than playing for your team and no greater honor than playing
for your country
. In addition, it provides each player with the opportunity to advance
international goodwill and develop lasting friendships with teammates and
opponents alike.

                                                  HISTORY OF THE JAMES CUP

The James Cup is named in the honor and memory of Tom James, "TJ" as his friends knew him. Tom became known as the Ambassador of Lefty Golf for his many years of promoting and supporting Lefty Golf throughout the U.S. and abroad. He served on the Executive Committee of the National Association of Left Handed Golfers (NALG-USA) for several years and was instrumental in the formation of the World Association of Left Handed Golfers (WALG). "TJ" passed away at the age of 80, while attending the 1997 WALG Championship in Otsu, Japan.

In 1973 Tom James founded what was originally known as the North / South Lefty State
matching lefty teams from Northern and Southern California. It was first played
at the Avila Beach G.C. as a 36-hole stroke play event. The Championship was held annually
over Memorial Day Weekend in the San Luis Obispo - Paso Robles area of Central California.
In 1997 the format was changed to a 54-hole Ryder Cup style format. With the passing of "TJ"
the Championship was renamed the James Cup in the honor and memory of "TJ". As a further
tribute to his many achievements the first James Cup International Championship was played
in Marbella, Spain in 2002.

The James Cup Championships are organized and hosted by the James Cup Committee, a self-governed independent organization. Contact:
Click Here

Thank you for visiting our website. The site will be updated as new information becomes available. In the meantime have fun enjoying the wonderful game of golf.

Back to Top